Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 8

By: Paxton, Alvord, Bergstrom, Boren, Brooks, Bullard, Burns, Coleman, Daniels, Deevers, Dossett, Frix, Gillespie, Gollihare, Goodwin, Green, Grellner, Guthrie, Hall, Hamilton, Haste, Hicks, Hines, Howard, Jech, Jett, Kern, Kirt, Mann, McIntosh, Murdock, Nice, Pederson, Prieto, Pugh, Rader, Reinhardt, Rosino, Sacchieri, Seifried, Standridge, Stanley, Stewart, Thompson, Weaver, Wingard, and Woods

A Resolution recognizing and celebrating the 2024 University of Oklahoma softball team and coach Patty Gasso for the excitement and pride they bring to the State of Oklahoma.

WHEREAS, the 2024 Oklahoma softball team, under the direction of head coach Patty Gasso, swept rival Texas in the Women's College World Series to win its NCAA-record fourth consecutive national title; and

WHEREAS, the Sooners, over the 50-year history of the Oklahoma softball program, have won eight national championships, including six in the past eight years and seven in the past 11, and have competed in 17 Women's College World Series, including 12 of the last 13; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 Sooners opened state-of-the-art Love's Field on March 1 and drew an NCAA-single-season-record 108,156 fans for an average crowd size of 4,326; and

WHEREAS, a nation-leading five Sooners were named 2024 NFCA All-Americans, including first-teamers Alyssa Brito and Tiare Jennings; and

WHEREAS, the Sooners won their ninth conference tournament crown by claiming the 2024 Big 12 Softball Championship in Oklahoma City; and

WHEREAS, Coach Gasso earned her 1,500th NCAA Division I win and became the first Big 12 coach in any sport, men's or women's, to record 400 conference victories; and

WHEREAS, OU placed nine student-athletes on the 2024 All-Big 12 teams, including a league-high five on the first team; and

WHEREAS, Oklahoma student-athlete Kinzie Hansen was named 2024 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, Ella Parker was recognized as a top-three finalist for 2024 NFCA Division I Freshman of the Year, Alyssa Brito was named CSC Academic All-America Team Member of the Year, and a nation-leading five Sooners were among the 25 finalists for USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the OU 2024 senior class closed its career with the winningest four-year stretch in NCAA softball history, recording 235 victories to just 15 losses and going 73-7 in Big 12 Conference play and 41-4 in the NCAA Tournament.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 60TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate expresses profound appreciation to Coach Patty Gasso and the 2024 OU softball team for the excitement and pride they bring to the University of Oklahoma, the State of Oklahoma, and to Sooners everywhere, and for the exemplary manner in which they represented the University and added to its tradition of excellence.

Adopted by the Senate the 25th day of March, 2025.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

	Received	by	the	Office	of	the	Secretary	of	State	this	
day	of				20		, at		o'd	clock	 М.
Ву:											